Two Holton men arrested after police discover active meth lab

Wanda English Burnett

Two Holton men were arrested earlier this week after police in Decatur County made a traffic stop and discovered an active methamphetamine lab inside the vehicle.

According to information from Sgt. Robert Duckworth of the Decatur County Sheriff’s Office, the discovery was made after they received a report of suspicious activity on west County Road 1100 S. in Decatur County. Deputy Kevin Rohr and Trooper Rick Love of the Indiana State Police responded. The vehicle pulled into a driveway where the driver, Billey A. McRoberts, 30, of Holton, immediately exited, coming towards Deputy Rohr’s vehicle.

McRoberts did not comply with the commands of officers and during his arrest fled on foot. Columbus Police Department provided a K-9 to assist to locate McRoberts.

Along with an active methamphetamine lab inside the vehicle McRoberts was driving, officers found large amounts of precursers to support additional production efforts including a self-made storage tank full of anhydrous ammonia. They also seized a loaded 9mm handgun.

Officers at the scene were assisted by the Investigations Division and the ISP Methamphetamine Suppression Section.

During the investigation three people were arrested: McRoberts, who faces possible charges of Manufacturing of Methamphetamine over 3 grams, Class A Felony; Possession of Methamphetamine with a Firearm, Class C Felony; Unlawful Possession of Anhydrous Ammonia, Class C Felony; and Escape, Class C Felony. He is also wanted out of Ripley County for Resisting Law Enforcement and a warrant out of Jennings County for Failure to Appear Leaving Scene of Crash.

Shawn E. Moore, 31, of Holton, was also arrested on a warrant out of Washington County for Receiving Stolen Auto Parts.

Karen S. Gadd, 43, of Greensburg, was taken into custody with charges of Possession of Methamphetamine and Possession of Controlled Substance, both Class D Felonies.

Several agencies assisted during the arrest and investigation. They include: Columbus Police Department, Westport Police Department and Fire, Indiana State Police, Versailles District, Indiana State Police Meth Suppression Section, Greensburg Police Department and Fire, and Decatur County EMS.