January 25, 2011

2011 South Ripley Lady Raiders are tourney champions

The 2011 Milan Indian wrestling team finishes their day's hosting of an annual 6-way meet gathered together for a team picture. Despite cold icy conditions outside and a later start than first planned, the event was carried out successfully with all six teams able to compete.


Milan Indian hosted 6-way Meet results are posted

Gary Franklin, Sports Editor
The Milan High School's annually hosted 6-way wrestling invitational got underway on Saturday, January 22, in spite of the weather. The event weigh-ins were backed up to allow for safer traveling conditions for contenders and fans.
A large crowd of parents and supporters occupied the gym seats as wrestlers from the six schools competed. Included in the event were representatives from Jennings County High School, Columbus East High School, Paoli High School, New Washington High School, Rushville High School and hosting Milan High School.
Oficials for the event included: Orlando Fontanez, Michael Hahn and Ray Black. The three mat venue allowed for all six teams to wrestle simultaneously.
Team results:
Jennings County out scored Rushville, New Washington, Paoli and Milan, falling to Columbus East.
Columbus East out scored Jen. Co., Rushville New Washington and Paoli, falling to Milan.
Milan topped Col. East, Paoli and New Washington while falling to Jen. Co. and Rushville.
Rushville topped Milan, New Washington and Paoli while falling to Jen. Co. and Col. East.
Paoli toppled New Washington but fell to the rest of the field.
New Washington acquired no team wins.
Individual Medalists
112# Cole Maggard - Rushville
112# Mitch Gilbert - Columbus East
119# Justin Wilson - Rushville
125# Brady Minick - New Washington
130# Mike Wayert - Columbus East
135# Jordan Gast - Jennings County
140# Matt Yatsko - Milan
145# Zeth O'Neal - Milan
152# Jacob Cheezebrew - Jennings County
160# Jacob Franklin - New Washington
171# Garrett Shephard - Paoli
189# Corey Jewett - Milan
215# Austin Wilson - Jennings County
289# Dennis Watson - Milan


Jac-Cen-Del Lady Eagle senior Becca Wagner is nominated for the 2011 McDonald's All-Star Games

Gary Franklin, Sports Editor

Becca Wagner is one of 53 Indiana basketball players nominated for the 2011 McDonald's All-Star game that will be played March 30, at the United Center in Chicago.

Consideration from the Hoosier state is extended through 29 boys and 24 girls this year.

Nominees are submitted by members of the McDonald's All-American Selection Committee as well as state representatives who closely follow prep basketball in each player's respective area.

A complete list of nominees is available at

McDonald's will name the final rosters of 24 boys and 24 girls for its All-Star games during the 2011 McDonald's All-American Selection Show airing at 5:30 p.m. EST, February 10, on ESPNU.

The 10th annual girls game will tip off on Wednesday, March 30, at 7:30 p.m. EST from the United Center in Chicago. The 34th annual boys game will follow at 10 p.m. EST.

Senior Jac-Cen-Del Lady Eagle Becca Wagner picks up speed to blow past her defender enroute to the basket for a lay up and the chance to convert after being fouled for an old fashioned three point play.